Top of Page

CPS Celebrates National Nurse Appreciation Week

12 May 2022

Five School Nurses Presented with Awards for Extraordinary Service; Three Nurses Recognized as Co-Nurse Managers of the Year

CPS Office of Communications

Phone: 773-553-1620
Twitter: @chipubschools
Facebook: chicagopublicschools

CHICAGO - Chicago Public Schools (CPS) today recognized its school nurses during its National Nurse Week Celebration for the critical work they do to support the health and well-being of students throughout the city.  During the event, five school nurses were presented with the District’s newly established ROSE (Recognition Of Service Extraordinaires) Awards in distinct categories. 

“We deeply value our school nurses and the important role they play within our school communities every day to eliminate health-related barriers to learning and increase health equity in Chicago,” said CEO Pedro Martinez. “In addition, as CPS and school districts across the country continue to navigate the pandemic, we are so grateful to our school nurses who continue to serve in our efforts to keep families safe, healthy and informed.”

Hosted by CPS’ Office of Diverse Learners Supports and Services and the Office of Student Health and Wellness, the event honored the District’s 504 School Nurses, more than 180 of whom were nominated for ROSE Awards.

“The school nurses here today – both the winners and all of those nominated – represent a committed workforce devoted to the health and well-being of our students,” said Deputy Chief Health Officer TaShunda Green-Shelton. “I am so honored to work alongside these professionals who truly exemplify what it means to be there for our students and families – for everything from applying band-aids to scraped knees, to providing medical guidance in more serious matters.”

The award winners were nominated by their peers and school communities for their attributes in the following categories: Integrity, Compassion, Accountability, Respect and Excellence. More information about each winner and the respective categories for which they’re being honored is included below: 

Gloria Thayer, Burbank Elementary - Integrity Award: One who dedicates themself to service in the best interests of our students, families, school and community; speaks up and takes positive action when something is inappropriate or inconsistent with the mission of Chicago Public Schools, follows through on commitments and holds themselves accountable.

Jennifer Rivers, Harlan High School - Compassion Award: Actively listens to the perspectives, values and needs of the students, families, and school and treats them as if they are their own; maintains an engaged and personal presence while serving the school community and promotes a therapeutic environment.

Irene Lusk, Moos Elementary - Accountability Award: One who demonstrates the highest professional standards of ethics, knowledge, skill, and competence in decision making and work performance; approaches challenges in a manner that reflects the mission, vision, and values of Chicago Public Schools, takes pride in the environment around them and takes positive action for its betterment.

Mary Jo Hennessey, Clinton Elementary - Respect Award: One who demonstrates respect for the culture and values of those served by Chicago Public Schools; who values and embraces the rich diversity of cultural insight, professional identity, and training in achieving the goals of a Healthy Chicago Public Schools. 

Heather Dreznick, Saucedo Elementary - Excellence Award: One who demonstrates a personal commitment to creating and sustaining the highest standards of safety, quality, and service; works collaboratively with others to improve the health and quality of education of the students; who embraces change in the pursuit of achieving a Healthy Chicago Public Schools.

In addition to the ROSE Award winners, the District presented three supervisors with the Co-Nurse Managers of the Year Award: Brandon Major (North Networks) , Akilah Muhammad (Central Networks) and Maureen Rabbitte (South Networks).

# # #