CPS to Hold Supplemental LSC Elections to Fill Vacant Seats 

New LSC Representatives Will Begin Two-Year Terms in July


May 14, 2014


CHICAGO— Seven Chicago Public Schools (CPS) will hold supplemental Local School Council (LSC) elections today to fill LSC seats that remain vacant following the District-wide elections in April. The elections ensure that each Local School Council will have adequate council participation when the new two-year term begins on July 1.


Each Local School Council is made up of 12 members with an additional student member at the high school level. Currently, there are seven LSCs that must fill additional seats order to make a quorum.


“I commend everyone who worked very hard this year on council recruitment, including thousands of engaged LSC candidates who participated in April’s elections,” said CPS CEO Barbara Byrd-Bennett. “Nevertheless, each and every school needs a full council so that members can do the best work possible on behalf of our children. I urge engaged parents and community members to take advantage of this critical opportunity by coming forward, getting involved and making a difference.”


LSC representatives serve as an important link between a school’s administration, community, CPS and students, and play a significant role in decision-making at the local school level. Elected LSC representatives will serve two-year terms in school years 2014-2015 and 2015-16. Each LSC is made up of six parents, two community members, two teachers, one non-teacher staff member and the school's principal. High School LSCs also have a student representative.


CPS will hold supplemental elections today at the following schools:


  • Austin Polytechnical Academy High School (231 N. Pine Ave)
  • Carrie Jacobs Bond Elementary School (7050 S. May St)
  • Dyett High School (555 E. 51st St)
  • Emil G Hirsch Metropolitan High School (7740 S. Ingleside Ave)
  • Lindblom Math & Science Academy HS (6130 S. Wolcott Ave)
  • TEAM Englewood Community Academy High School (6201 S. Stewart Ave)
  • Ida B. Wells Elementary (249 E. 37th St)


The polls will open at 6:00 a.m. and close at 7:00 p.m. at each school. Candidates for this year’s supplemental elections were required to file by May 9th. For more information, please contact the Office of LSC Relations at (773) 553-1400 and www.cps.edu.


Chicago Public Schools serves 400,000 students in 658 schools. It is the nation’s third-largest school district.

Page Last Modified on Friday, June 13, 2014